Vintage port terrible teens?

Anything to do with Port.
Tadhg555
Cheap Ruby

Vintage port terrible teens?

Post by Tadhg555 »

Hello -

I am relatively new to the world of port, so apologies if I use the wrong terminology. While I have enjoyed port-style wines (from California) for years, I hadn't experienced true vintage port until recently when I tried a Graham's 1990 Centenary Malvedos, followed by Taylor's Very Old Single Harvest 1968. Suffice it to say, I was hooked...

I am interested in building a (small) collection of vintage port, some to save for myself and future generations, others to drink and enjoy over the next 5-10 years. I have already picked up a few bottles of Dow's:

1994 (2 bottles)
2000 (2 bottles)
2011 (2 bottles)

I know that quality VP improves with decades of cellaring; I also know that some VP's can be drunk while young. I've also heard that there is a period of "difficult adolescence" when the wine is going through growth pains and isn't as approachable (as the father of a 15-year-old I can totally understand that).

Here's my question: When will I know when my port has entered those teen years? Is there a general rule of thumb, or does it depend on the producer and the vintage?

Thanks for your advice!
g-man
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994

Re: Vintage port terrible teens?

Post by g-man »

The fun part about being with the port community is that folks are quite diligent about trying/posting and sharing ports and notes, allowing another fellow forumite to make their own informed decisions fitted to their tastes!

Unfortunately there is no hard rule, my "dumb phase" starting at 5 to say 15 years is not the same as another taster's dumb phase. I've had fellow tasters who just enjoy drinking young port and feel as if the young ports are always ready to drink, and i'm sure we have the other spectrum of folks who feel nothing younger than 20 years could be considered ready to drink.