First-time vintage port tasting

Anything to do with Port.
Steve Veness
Cheap Ruby

First-time vintage port tasting

Post by Steve Veness »

Hi All,

Ok so I am going to try one on my newly acquired bottles of 1963 Croft - probably the one with the dropped cork (see viewtopic.php?t=14191).

I have never have never tried such an old port before. What should I expect? How different from, say, a recent vintage or a LBV port will it be?

Also how best to taste? I understand that I need to decant the port some hours before. I plan to ask a neighbouring wine enthusiast round with his wife and mine, so four of us to share the bottle. It's not going to keep once opened, even vacuvined, right?

I have a 2005 Warre's VP we could also try for comparison but that might be just silly for all I know.

We'll need to eat too. Would a selection of fine cheese be suitable as an accompaniment or just a distraction?

Genuinely seeking advice as I am a complete novice on this.

Many thanks

Steve
winesecretary
Fonseca 1980

Re: First-time vintage port tasting

Post by winesecretary »

This port will be sweet and luscious and... look at recent tasting notes of this forum to see what to expect.

It is a pop'n'pour i.e. do not decant much in advance. You should decant off the sediment, but just before serving. Four of you will consume it within an hour of opening, because it is way too easy to drink this wine. Three of us managed to do this last year with a bottle of this even though it was the fourth bottle of wine of the night (albeit not all the others were port). YMMV but, seriously, it will not keep.

2005 Warre - decant 24 hours in advance to allow for reasonable comparison. They will be very different but that will be instructive. this one will keep a few days.

Cheese a fine accompaniment, although better with the Warre 2005 than this Croft, which is quite soft and delicate now.
Alex Bridgeman
Graham’s 1948

Post by Alex Bridgeman »